CECC raises travel notice for 42 countries and one territory in Eastern Europe, Middle East, Central Asia, and Northern Africa to Level 3: Warning; CECC advises against all nonessential travel

On March 16, the Central Epidemic Command Center (CECC) reported that the coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) outbreak had expanded throughout Eastern Europe and the Middle East, and announced that effective March 17, it will raise its travel notice for 13 countries in Eastern Europe, 15 countries and one territory in the Middle East, five countries in Northern Africa, and nine countries in Central Asia to Level 3: Warning. This comes in addition to the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Iran, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia, and Slovenia, which were already subject to a Level 3: Warning travel notice.

The countries and territory covered by this announcement are as follows: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Egypt, Georgia, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Libya, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, North Macedonia, Oman, Pakistan, Palestine, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Syria, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, and Yemen. Travelers from these countries will be required to follow a 14-day period of home quarantine after entering Taiwan.