Hong Kong, Australia are removed from CECC’s list of medium-risk countries as their coronavirus cases continue to increase

The Central Epidemic Command Center (CECC) announced that no additional cases of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) were confirmed in Taiwan on July 22. The CECC reported that a cumulative total of 79,951 cases related to COVID-19 have been reported among which COVID-19 has been ruled out in 78,965. Of these reported cases, infection with COVID-19 was laboratory-confirmed in 455 cases. Of 455 confirmed cases in Taiwan, 364 are imported and 55 are indigenous while 36 are naval crew members aboard the Panshi fast combat support ship. Of the confirmed cases, there have been 7 deaths, and 440 patients have been released from isolation, with the other 8 patients remaining hospitalized in isolation.

The CECC also announced the updated list of countries/regions eligible for shortened quarantine periods in Taiwan. The CECC reported that Hong Kong and Australia continue to record more locally-acquired cases in recent weeks, and the coronavirus pandemic is worsening in Hong Kong and Australia. In consideration of the status of the pandemic in the regions, the CECC has removed Hong Kong and Australia from the category of medium-risk countries. The latest list of eligible countries/regions is as follows:
1. Low-risk countries/regions: New Zealand, Macao, Palau, Fiji, Brunei, Vietnam, Thailand, Mongolia, Bhutan, Laos, Cambodia, Myanmar.
2. Medium-risk countries/regions: South Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, Sri Lanka.