CECC removes Hong Kong from its list of medium-risk countries as local cases in Hong Kong surge

On December 2, the Central Epidemic Command Center (CECC) announced six new confirmed imported cases of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) in Taiwan, Cases #681-686. As of writing, a cumulative total of 111,045 cases related to COVID-19 have been reported in Taiwan among which COVID-19 has been ruled out in 109,231. Of these reported cases, infection with COVID-19 was laboratory-confirmed in 685 cases. Of the 685 confirmed cases, 593 are imported; 55 are indigenous; 36 are naval crew members aboard the Panshi fast combat support ship; 1 case has unknown sources of infection; and 1 case (Case #530) has been removed (Case #530 is not assigned to any patients). Of the confirmed cases, there have been 7 deaths, and 570 patients have been released from isolation, with the other 108 patients remaining hospitalized in isolation.

The CECC also announced the updated list of countries/regions eligible for shortened quarantine periods in Taiwan. The CECC reported that the number of local cases in Hong Kong rose significantly recently and nearly 700 local cases were reported within two weeks. Among those new cases in the region, 144 had unknown sources of infection, a huge increase compared to earlier numbers. In consideration of the escalating coronavirus situation in Hong Kong, the CECC removes Hong Kong from the list of medium-risk countries/regions, effective immediately. The latest list of eligible countries/regions is as follows:
1. Low-risk countries/regions: New Zealand, Macao, Palau, Fiji, Brunei, Thailand, Bhutan, Laos, Nauru, East Timor, Mauritius, Vietnam, the Marshall Islands, Singapore, Cambodia. 
2. Medium-risk countries/regions: Australia.

發佈日期 2020/12/2