CECC adds Australia to its list of medium-risk countries as local infections in Australia are on the decline

On September 30, the Central Epidemic Command Center (CECC) reported that a cumulative total of 93,651 cases related to coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) have been reported in Taiwan among which COVID-19 has been ruled out in 92,502. Of these reported cases, infection with COVID-19 was laboratory-confirmed in 514 cases (Case #514 confirmed today). Of the 514 confirmed cases, 422 are imported; 55 are indigenous; 36 are naval crew members aboard the Panshi fast combat support ship; and 1 case has unknown sources of infection. Of the confirmed cases, there have been 7 deaths, and 483 patients have been released from isolation, with the other 24 patients remaining hospitalized in isolation.

The CECC announced the updated list of countries/regions eligible for shortened quarantine periods in Taiwan. The CECC reported that locally-acquired cases in Victoria, Australia have continued to decline since the peak in the first half of August. The daily average for new cases in Victoria has decreased to 20 cases recently, and the status of the pandemic in the country has met the criteria for the CECC's medium-risk category for two weeks in a row. Therefore, the CECC has added Australia to its list of medium-risk countries/regions, effective immediately.
The latest list of eligible countries/regions is as follows:
1. Low-risk countries/regions: New Zealand, Macao, Palau, Fiji, Brunei, Thailand, Mongolia, Bhutan, Laos, Cambodia, Sri Lanka, Nauru, East Timor, Mauritius, Vietnam, the Marshall Islands. 
2. Medium-risk countries/regions: Malaysia, Singapore, Hong Kong, Australia. 

發佈日期 2020/9/30