CECC removes Sri Lanka from its list of medium-risk countries and moves Cambodia to the list of medium-risk countries

The Central Epidemic Command Center (CECC) announced that no additional cases of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) were confirmed in Taiwan on October 14. As of writing, a cumulative total of 97,437 cases related to COVID-19 have been reported in Taiwan among which COVID-19 has been ruled out in 96,322. Of these reported cases, infection with COVID-19 was laboratory-confirmed in 530 cases. Of the 530 confirmed cases, 438 are imported; 55 are indigenous; 36 are naval crew members aboard the Panshi fast combat support ship; and 1 case has unknown sources of infection. Of the confirmed cases, there have been 7 deaths, and 491 patients have been released from isolation, with the other 32 patients remaining hospitalized in isolation.

The CECC also announced the updated list of countries/regions eligible for shortened quarantine periods in Taiwan. The CECC reported that local cases in Sri Lanka continued to increase and there were signs of cluster infections in workplace. As those developments indicated the risk of community spread in the country, the CECC has removed Sri Lanka from its category of medium-risk countries/regions. Moreover, Malaysia recently reported one imported case from Cambodia, which suggested there might be hidden sources of infection at communities in Cambodia. Therefore, Cambodia is removed from the CECC's list of medium-risk countries/regions, effective immediately. The latest list of eligible countries/regions is as follows:
1. Low-risk countries/regions: New Zealand, Macao, Palau, Fiji, Brunei, Thailand, Mongolia, Bhutan, Laos, Nauru, East Timor, Mauritius, Vietnam, the Marshall Islands. 
2. Medium-risk countries/regions: Singapore, Hong Kong, Australia, Cambodia.

發佈日期 2020/10/14