CECC raises its risk level for Sri Lanka to medium from low risk and removes Malaysia from its list of medium-risk countries as global coronavirus situation escalates

On October 7, the Central Epidemic Command Center (CECC) reported that a cumulative total of 95,262 cases related to coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) have been reported in Taiwan among which COVID-19 has been ruled out in 93,987. Of these reported cases, infection with COVID-19 was laboratory-confirmed in 523 cases (Cases #522 and #523 confirmed today). Of the 523 confirmed cases, 431 are imported; 55 are indigenous; 36 are naval crew members aboard the Panshi fast combat support ship; and 1 case has unknown sources of infection. Of the confirmed cases, there have been 7 deaths, and 486 patients have been released from isolation, with the other 30 patients remaining hospitalized in isolation.

The CECC announced the updated list of countries/regions eligible for shortened quarantine periods in Taiwan. The CECC reported that Sri Lanka confirmed more than 700 cases yesterday and local cluster infections were rapidly increasing. Therefore, the CECC has moved Sri Lanka to its list of medium-risk countries from low-risk countries. Furthermore, nearly 700 new cases were reported in Malaysia yesterday. In consideration of the escalating situation and the risk of spread in the country, Malaysia is removed from the CECC's list of medium-risk countries, effective immediately. The latest list of eligible countries/regions is as follows:
1. Low-risk countries/regions: New Zealand, Macao, Palau, Fiji, Brunei, Thailand, Mongolia, Bhutan, Laos, Cambodia, Nauru, East Timor, Mauritius, Vietnam, the Marshall Islands. 
2. Medium-risk countries/regions: Singapore, Hong Kong, Australia, Sri Lanka.

發佈日期 2020/10/7