CECC adds South Korea to its list of medium-risk countries as the country's COVID-19 cases continue downward trend

On October 21, the Central Epidemic Command Center (CECC) reported that a cumulative total of 99,589 cases related to coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) have been reported in Taiwan among which COVID-19 has been ruled out in 98,282. Of these reported cases, infection with COVID-19 was laboratory-confirmed in 544 cases. Of the 544 confirmed cases, 452 are imported; 55 are indigenous; 36 are naval crew members aboard the Panshi fast combat support ship; and 1 case has unknown sources of infection. Of the confirmed cases, there have been 7 deaths, and 495 patients have been released from isolation, with the other 42 patients remaining hospitalized in isolation.

The CECC announced the updated list of countries/regions eligible for shortened quarantine periods in Taiwan. The CECC reported that COVID-19 cases in South Korea continued downward trend recently and the status of the pandemic in the country has met the criteria for the CECC's medium-risk category for four weeks in a row. Therefore, South Korea is added to the CECC's medium-risk countries, effectively immediately. The latest list of eligible countries/regions is as follows:
1. Low-risk countries/regions: New Zealand, Macao, Palau, Fiji, Brunei, Thailand, Mongolia, Bhutan, Laos, Nauru, East Timor, Mauritius, Vietnam, the Marshall Islands. 
2. Medium-risk countries/regions: Singapore, Hong Kong, Australia, Cambodia, South Korea.

發佈日期 2020/10/21