South Korea is removed from CECC’s list of medium-risk countries as its coronavirus situation continues to escalate with risk of nationwide pandemic

The Central Epidemic Command Center (CECC) announced that no additional cases of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) were confirmed in Taiwan on August 26. The CECC reported that a cumulative total of 86,419 cases related to COVID-19 have been reported in Taiwan among which COVID-19 has been ruled out in 85,346. Of these reported cases, infection with COVID-19 was laboratory-confirmed in 487 cases. Of 487 confirmed cases in Taiwan, 395 are imported; 55 are indigenous; 36 are naval crew members aboard the Panshi fast combat support ship, and 1 case has yet to be determined. Of the confirmed cases, there have been 7 deaths, and 462 patients have been released from isolation, with the other 18 patients remaining hospitalized in isolation.

The CECC also announced the updated list of countries/regions eligible for shortened quarantine periods in Taiwan. The CECC reported that coronavirus cases are rapidly increasing in South Korea over the past two weeks. Moreover, the authorities in South Korea reported that coronavirus cases haven’t reached the peak and there is a risk of a nationwide pandemic in the country. In consideration of the status of the pandemic in the country, the CECC has removed South Korea from the category of medium-risk countries. On the other hand, coronavirus cases in Sri Lanka continue to decline, with the majority of its cases being imported. Therefore, CECC has changed its risk level for Sri Lanka to low from medium risk. In addition, Nauru, East Timor, and Mauritius have been added to the list of low-risk countries.
The latest list of eligible countries/regions is as follows:
1. Low-risk countries/regions: New Zealand, Macao, Palau, Fiji, Brunei, Thailand, Mongolia, Bhutan, Laos, Cambodia, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Nauru, East Timor, Mauritius.
2. Medium-risk countries/regions: Malaysia, Singapore, Vietnam.

發佈日期 2020/8/26